Monday, November 5, 2012

Smith Earns Academic And Sportsmanship Honors

Smith College Tennis Team, fall 2012 
Smith Tennis ended the fall 2012 season on a high note by having six members of the team recognized for NEWMAC Academic All-Conference honors  and by being presented the NEWMAC Sportsmanship Award for 2012. Honorees of the academic all-conference team must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2012 spring semester, achieved second year academic status at her institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.  Six members of the Pioneers' tennis team were honored, including Jana Chan, Jordan Dubin, Ilona Miller, Haruka Shimoto, Andrea Tanco, and Bayla Weick..  The NEWMAC Sportmanship Award is voted on by members of the conference teams and will be awarded on Nov 13  when conference tennis coaches come together for the culmination of the fall season.  MIT won the conference championship hands down with Wellesley as finalist.  All individual award winners and those earning all-conference status are listed on the NEWMAC website.  Congratulations to Smith Tennis.  “Finish strong, Finish Together, Encourage One Another, All with Grace”  Go Pioneers.